X. Chris Le, PhD
Profile (PDF), Chris in office (jpg), Chris photo (jpg)

Distinguished University Professor
Canada Research Chair in Bioanalytical Technology and Environmental Health
Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Academy of Science

Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology,
Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, 10-102 Clinical Sciences Building,
University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2G3

Dr. Le is Distinguished University Professor and Canada Research Chair in Bioanalytical Technology and Environmental Health. He contributes to Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology (Faculty of Mediciena and Dentistry), Department of Public Health Sciences (School of Public Health), and Department of Chemistry (Faculty of Science), University of Alberta. He is Director of the Analytical and Environmental Toxicology Division. He is also a Guest Professor of Chinese Academy of Sciences (Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences, and Wuhan Institute of Virology), Peking University, Wuhan University, and Zhejiang University. Dr. Le is an Associate Editor for Environmental Health Perspectives and Editor-in-Chief for Journal of Environmental Sciences..

Dr. Le obtained undergraduate training from Wuhan University (1979-1983). He obtained a M.Sc. degree from Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences (1983-1986) before he came to Canada and pursued a second M.Sc. degree at Brock University (1987-1988). He received his Ph.D. in Environmental/Analytical Chemistry from the University of British Columbia (1990-1993). He was subsequently awarded a prestigious Killam Postdoctoral Fellowship and carried out postdoctoral research in the Chemistry Department at the University of Alberta (1994). He was recruited to the Faculty of Medicine in 1995 and was promoted through the ranks to Professor in 2003.

Dr. Le received an E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship (2000-2001) from Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC). He was awarded by the Canadian Society for Chemistry a McBryde Medal (2002), a Maxxam Award (2011) for "distinguished contribution to the field of analytical chemistry", and an Environment Research and Development Award (2011) "for distinguished contributions to research and/or development in the fields of environmental chemistry or environmental chemical engineering". He also received an Excellence in Mentoring Award (2009) and a Martha Cook Piper Research Prize (2000), both from the University of Alberta, and Canada Research Chair in Bioanalytical Technology and Environmental Health (2000-2017) from the Government of Canada. Dr. Le is elected Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada (2001), Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) (2016), and Fellow of the Academy of Science, Royal Society of Canada (2010).

Dr. Le's group actively pursues research involving bioanalytical chemistry and environmental health sciences. Current projects include (i) analytical techniques and assays for molecules of environmental and biological significance; (ii) arsenic speciation, exposure, metabolism, and health effects; (iii) DNA damage and protein biomarkers; (iv) environmental health; and (v) water and food safety. The ultrasensitive techiques and assays enable studies of the environment and human health. This group enjoys extensive collaborations with multidisciplinary research groups both on campus and internationally.

Research in this group has been supported by Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research, Alberta Health, Alberta Innovates, Alberta Cancer Foundation, American Water Works Association Research Foundation (USA), Canada Foundation for Innovation, the Canada Research Chairs Program, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Canadian Water Network NCE, Environmental Protection Agency (USA), Health Canada, Metals in the Human Environment Research Network, National Cancer Institute (USA), National Cancer Institute of Canada (Terry Fox Foundation), National Institutes of Health (USA), and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.