Current Experimental Geophysics Group


Mr. Randy Kofman,

Research Professional, commence June, 2010.

Mr. Xiwei Chen:


Research Professional Intern, commence May 2013.

         Best Student Integrated Poster, Geoconvention 2014 (Chen presenter)


Mr. Luyi Shen


(Ph.D commence September, 2015): Geomechanics of steam injection zones. (Note Mr. Shen is employed part time at the Alberta Geological Survey)

Mr. Nam Ong


(M.Sc. commence September 2015). Wave speed measurements on bitumen saturated carbonates.

Mr. Christopher Nixon


(M.Sc., Commence June, 2015, transfer to PhD September 2016) borehole seismology. Deep seismic microseismic monitoring, vertical seismic profiling in New Zealand and for ICDP Exp. 364-Chicxulub

Mr. Ryan Ferguson

(M.Sc., commence January, 2015) High resolution seismic imaging at Baffin Island. Rock physics of iron ore deposits.

         Queen Elizabeth II Scholarship Fall Term 2016.

SEG Graduate Scholarship Fall Term 2016

Mr. Tyson Epp


(M.Sc., commence September 2014), Strength determination of rock, influence on strength of viscous bitumen.

Mr. Mohammadreza Malehmir

(Ph.d., commence September 2012, transfer to my supervision July, 2013) Seismic anisotropy


Mr. Micah Morin

(M.Sc., commence May 2013), Rock Physics and Geomechanical properties of bitumen saturated rocks.


Mr. Tariq Mohammed

(M.Sc., commence June 2013. Transfer to Phd February 2015)

Best Student Oral Paper Award, 2015 Geoconvention, Calgary.

Mr. Arif Rabbani


(Ph.d.. commence September 2012). Rock physics of bitumen saturated carbonates particularly P-T dependent fluid properties.

         Shell Canada Enhanced Learning Fund Award (Assistance to Biot Conference, Vienna, July 2013)


Current Co-Supervised Students

Mr. Jianyong Xie

(Visiting CSC PhD from China University of Petroleum Beijing, September 2016 to January 2018). Anisotropy of shales


Mr. Wei Li


(Vising CSC Phd from China University of Geosciences Beijing, October 2015 September 2017). Anisotropy of rocks associated with the Alpine Fault NZ.

Mr. Xu Dong


(Visiting CSC Phd from China University of Petroleum Qingdao, October 2015 to March 2017). Low frequency bulk modulus determination.