Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences

Merck Company Foundation National Summer Student Research Programme For 2001

Kishor M. Wasan, Ph.D.

Director of Programme

Recipient	Supervisor	Affiliation
Evan H. Kwong	Dr. M. Levine	University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia
Genevieve Faucher	Dr. J.C. Leroux	Universite de Montreal, Montreal, Quebec
Melissa Skanes	Dr. V. Richardson	Memorial University, St. John's, Newfoundland
Jennifer Bonnetta	Dr. F.J. Burczynski	University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba
Rudy C. Sedlak	Dr. J. Diakur, Dr. L.Wiebe	University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta
Marc Grenier	Dr. R. Drobitch	Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia
Annie Cheung	Dr. M. Piquette-Miller	University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
Ruth Ombati	Dr. A. Nazarali	University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Phillippe Vincent	Dr. P.M. Belanger	Universite Laval, Quebec, Quebec

CSPS

5th Annual Symposium

June 13th - 15th, 2002, Banff, Alberta, Canada

Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences

CSPS Award Of Leadership 2002

David Dolphin, Ph.D. *Executive Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board, QLT*



Dr. Dolphin is a world-renowned expert in porphyrin chemistry and biochemistry whose work has been instrumental in the co-discovery of the family of photosensitive compounds that led to the development of Visudyne[®]. Before joining QLT in 1989, he was Acting Dean of Science at the University of British Columbia, where he

continues to hold a professorship in Chemistry and serve as QLT/NSERC Industrial Research Professor in photodynamic therapy. The author and editor of 18 books and over 350 papers on spectroscopy, chemistry and biochemistry, he is also the recipient of numerous and prestigious awards. Dr. Dolphin is a fellow of the Canadian Institute of Chemistry and was elected a Guggenheim Fellow in 1980 and in 1982 was awarded a D.Sc. from his alma mater, Nottingham University.

CSPS Award Of Leadership 2002 Julia Levy, Ph.D.

Executive Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board, QLT



Dr. Julia Levy has served in several key senior posts at QLT including Chief Scientific Officer and Vice President as well as President and CEO from 1995 to February 2002. Under her leadership, QLT recorded the strongest period of growth in company history and earned a reputation for achieving milestones, including FDA approval for Visudyne® therapy to treat age-related blindness in April 2000. Fol-

lowing her doctorate degree in immunology from the University of London, Dr. Levy was awarded an Industrial Professorship in the Department of Microbiology from the University of British Columbia and is the recipient of several honorary degrees. A fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and former President of the Canadian Federation of Biological Sciences, Dr. Levy has earned numerous awards and honors including an appointment as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2001, the Future of Vision Award from the Foundation Fighting Blindness in 2001, Pacific Canada Entrepreneur of the Year in 2000 and Female Entrepreneur of the Year for International Business in 1998. The author of many published scientific articles and a sought-after speaker, Dr. Levy currently serves as Director on a number of early-stage biotechnology company boards and on the board of the Working Opportunity Fund, a British Columbia, Canada-based venture capital firm.

Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences

Previous CSPS Awards Of Leadership

- 1999 **lain McGilveray**, Ph.D., President McGilveray Pharmacon Inc.
- 2000 Elizabeth Vadas, Ph.D., Executive Director Pharmaceutical Research & Development, Merck Frosst
- 2001 **Fakhreddin Jamali**, Ph.D., Associate Dean Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharamceutical Sciences, University of Alberta

CSPS Award To The Past President

Elizabeth Vadas, Ph.D.



Elizabeth B.Vadas obtained her PhD. in Physical Chemistry from McGill University. Following postdoctoral training she joined Merck Frosst in 1980 as a senior research scientist in the department of Pharmaceutical

Executive Director, Pharmaceutical R&D, Merck Frosst

Research and Development. Over the years she has been involved in the development of many new chemical entities discovered at the Merck Frosst Centre for Therapeutic Research while taking on increasing

management responsibilities. Currently Dr. Vadas is Executive Director of Pharmaceutical Research and Development, a department which has grown from 18 to over 80 scientists in the last 10 years under Dr. Vadas' leadership. Most notable of her department's scientific accomplishments are the product development efforts supporting the leukotriene and Cox-2 programs leading to the regulatory approval of SINGULAIR® in the former and VIOXX® in the latter; and to the regulatory submission of ARCOXIA™ Merck's second coxib. Dr. Vadas' main scientific interests are in the area of pharmaceutics, particularly in solid state chemistry and physics, drug excipient interactions and aerosols. She is an Adjunct Professor of Pharmaceutics at the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Montreal. She also has lectured and published widely.