CSPS Awards News 2004


Undergraduate Pharmacy Students from Canadian Pharmacy Schools that have been chosen for Merck Company Foundation National Summer Student Research Program for 2004


On behalf of the Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences, I am pleased to announce the CSPS award winners for 2004. This was an exciting and remarkable year in terms of the quality of candidates nominated for the awards and the difficulty the committee had in terms of selecting the award winners. In addition to the yearly award announcements, the society wishes to recognize for a special CSPS Lifetime Achievement Award, Dr. Antoine A. Noujaim, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. The global arena of pharmaceutical sciences knows of Dr. Noujaim's contributions in the fields of radiopharmaceutics and biotechnology. His outstanding and continuous contributions in these fields are the basis for this special award. The CSPS Award of Leadership in Canadian Pharmaceutical Sciences will be presented to Dr. Theresa M. Allen, Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, for her significant contributions in the field of anticancer drug delivery using targeted liposome technology. This year the committee has selected two candidates to receive the GlaxoSmithKline/CSPS Early Career Award. The recipients are Dr. Lucie Blais, Professeure adjointe, Faculté de pharmacie, Universite de Montréal, Montreal, Quebec, Canada; and Dr. Brian Cairns, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. These two early career scientists extend from the disciplines of pharmacoepidemiology to neuropharmacology respectively. The accomplishments they have made already in these fields bode well for the future of this research in Canada. As you can see, the awards span our country with a stop off in the middle! This is a great time to be a pharmaceutical scientist in Canada and a tough time to be on any selection committee charged with the responsibility of selecting from amongst the best.

Gordon McKay, President, CSPS