History Trails
  The Founding
  Faculties, Departments & Schools
  People A-G
  People H-O
  People P-Z
  Buildings & Campus Development
  Affiliated Institutions
  Clubs & Groups
  Speeches and Addresses
Biochemist Receives Prize

For the second time since the prize was created in 1964, the Steacie Prize has been awarded to a University of Alberta scientist.

B. D. Sykes, professor of biochemistry, has been named the 1982 winner of the $5,000 prize awarded annually to a Canadian scientist under the age of 40 who is active in any branch of the sciences or engineering.

Acknowledged as the nation's most prestigious scientific award to a younger scientist, the prize is named in honor of the late E. W. R. Steacie, a world-renowned physical chemist who was president of the National Research Council from 1952 to 1962, and president of the International Council of Scientific Unions in 1961.

Dr. Sykes is a ’65 BSc graduate of the U of A and received his PhD degree from Stanford University of 1969. He taught in the chemistry department at Harvard University until joining the U of A staff in 1975.

Dr. Sykes’ research centres on the application of nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) techniques to studies of the properties and mechanisms of action of a number of protein and enzyme systems. An acknowledged world leader in this important field, he has not only made notable contributions to studies of biological systems using established NMR techniques, but has contributed significantly to the development of new NMR techniques and experimental approaches.

Earlier this year the Canadian Biochemical Society named him the recipient of its Ayerst Award.

In 1979 Gordon Rostoker received the Steacie Prize in recognition of his contributions to the understanding of the physics of the earth's magnetosphere, the first Universitv of Alberta scientist to be so honored.

Published Spring 1983.

ua logo